Visions of Vocation- book review-Steven Garber

Standard

There are some books that I can pick up and breeze through. These books tend to be loaded with many enjoyable and riveting stories with insightful lessons. I enjoy books like this.

“Visions of Vocation” by Steven Garber is not one of these types of books. It is a thinking kind of book. It is a philosophical book with very challenging theological applications. It is a book that has stretched me to be more thoughtful, not in the sense of being more nice, but taking the time to give more thought to what I do and should be doing and why I do things.

Throughout the book, there is a theme of “Knowing what I know, what am I going to do?”. The book reinforces the idea that all work has meaning.

The idea of the book has challenged me to go beyond just acquiring knowledge, but looking to use my specific skills and my vocation and put it into practice and to influence this world for good because I am a part of it.

Leave a Reply

